Skip to main content

NOTICE: You have clicked on a link that leaves the New Braunfels Utilities website and you will be redirected to a third-party website. New Braunfels Utilities provides this link for your convenience for purely informational purposes and makes no representations nor has any supervision or control over the quality, content, reliability, or security of the third-party website. By clicking on this link, you do so entirely at your own risk and subject to the terms and conditions of use for the third-party website.

Cancel Accept

Purpose and Results

In February of 2021, NBU engaged Freese and Nichols, Inc. and sub-consultant NewGen Strategies and Solutions, LLC, to conduct a Cost-of-Service and Rate Design Study, including facilitating NBU’s first-ever Rate Advisory Committee (RAC), which is comprised of 18 community members. The purpose of the RAC was to provide feedback to NBU and its consultants regarding the proposed FYs 2024 and 2025 rate design from the viewpoint of each committee member’s rate category.

The RAC has hosted a series of public meetings since June 2022 and identified seven Key Policy Areas to shape rate design:

  • Low/Fixed Income Customers
  • Equity and Fairness in Rate Making
  • Conservation and Renewables
  • Revenue Sufficiency
  • Accommodating Growth
  • Utility Stability and Financial Strength
  • Simple to Understand and Easy to Implement
Watch Video Recordings of Past RAC Meetings
View RAC Livestreams


Membership of the Rate Advisory Committee reflected a balanced representation of customers within NBU’s service territory. The 18-member committee was appointed by the NBU Board of Trustees, seven of which were nominated by each member of the New Braunfels City Council. Each Rate Advisory Committee member represented a constituency and facilitated the flow of ideas and concerns from the community to NBU Management and the Board of Trustees.

An image of the 2022 Rate Advisory Committee members.
Rate Advisory Committee Members
Chair – Justin MeadowsVice Chair – Kate Gideon
Dr. Les ShephardMark Hampton
Dr. Michael Patrick HarringtonBobby Avary
Stuart HansmannStuart Blythin
David GlazenerDarren Hill
Alice JewellAlan Luke
Chip MillsJonathan Packer
Ian PerezJimmy Rabon
Dr. Cade SmithChris Snider


The Rate Advisory Committee members served through March 2023. New Braunfels Utilities presented the new rate design structure for consideration to the NBU Board of Trustees in March 2023 followed by the New Braunfels City Council in April 2023.